SLV gets piece of Health Colorado’s grant pie

PUEBLO — Health Colorado has awarded grant funding to 10 community agencies throughout Southern Colorado.
Agencies that received grants through the newly established Community Reinvestment Program include: Arkansas Valley CASA, Loaves and Fishes Ministries of Fremont County, Pueblo Department of Public Health & Environment, Pueblo Rescue Mission, Rio Grande County Public Health Department, Senior Resource Development Agency, Southern Colorado Harm Reduction Association, Southeastern Colorado Area Health Education Center, Spark the Change Colorado, and the Upper Arkansas Area Council of Governments.
The goal of the Community Reinvestment Program is to partner with community agencies to achieve a health care delivery system that improves member health and reduces cost of care.
The program encourages funding initiatives that meet at least one of the priorities of the Accountable Care Collaborative program, Key Performance Indicators and/or Behavioral Health Incentives, specifically those programs that increase Health First Colorado members’ access to preventive health services for oral and physical health, behavioral health services and benefits, pregnancy support and services by increasing prenatal visits and educating members about benefits.
The first round of proposals brought innovative programs to connect children and youth with type 1 diabetes to telehealth services, coordinated entry programs to connect individuals and families who are currently homeless, or at imminent risk of experiencing homelessness, with resources and appropriate housing, and interventions reducing the use of the emergency departments for injuries related to injection drug use, as well as HIV and HCV testing and prevention.
The first round of proposals was so promising that Health Colorado will be offering a second round of funding.  Organizations currently serving Health First Colorado members in the counties of Alamosa, Baca, Bent, Chaffee, Conejos, Costilla, Crowley, Custer, Fremont, Huerfano, Mineral, Kiowa, Lake, Las Animas, Otero, Prowers, Pueblo, Rio Grande and Saguache are eligible to apply. Grants will be awarded through a competitive application and review process. For more information call 719- 621-9500 or email [email protected]


Video News
More In Community